Study in Perth, Australia for a future of success. Learn and work with industry leaders in science, technology, business, humanities and the arts.

Science, Technology and Agriculture in Perth

Горнодобывающая отрасль Австралии – поставка ресурсов по всему миру

Бескрайние просторы Западной Австралии богаты минералами и энергетическими ресурсами. В нашем штате добывается пятая часть (21%) мировой добычи железной руды, 14% алюминия и 13% никеля. Более 60% программного обеспечения для горной промышленности создано в Перте, и с 2007 года здесь было проведено более 109 международных конференций по горному делу. 


 

 «Квадратная километровая решётка» (SKA) – величайший радиоастрономический проект в мире

Западная Австралия была выбрана местом проведения крупномасштабного радиоастрономического проекта, названного “Квадратная километровая решётка”. Проект стоимостью в 1.5 миллиарда евро будет реализован к 2016 году и  “Квадратная километровая решётка” станет самым технологически продвинутым радиотелескопом в мире, покрывающим зону между Западной Австралией и Южной Африкой. Как и отражено в его названии, проект “Квадратная километровая решётка” будет покрывать громадную территорию и состоять из тысяч антенн, соединённых между собой широкополосным оптоволокном. К настоящему времени, более 70 лучших учёных и инженеров всего мира прибыли в Международный центр по радиоастрономическим исследованиям (ICRAR)  в Перте для участия в проекте, и в настоящее время они занимаются обучением выпускников университетов Австралии.


 

Суперкомпьютер –  цифровая мощь стоимостью в 33 миллиона долларов 

В Западной Австралии находится Центр Pawsey, один из ведущих суперкомпьютерных центров Австралии. Там  находится суперкомпьютер стоимостью в 33 миллиона долларов, обрабатывающий огромое количество информации, поступающей с радиотелескопа SKA. Мощность этого центра будет использована для обработки материалов исследований в областях радиоастрономии, геологических, биологических наук и нанотехнологий. Он управляется iVEC, совместным предприятием CSIRO и четырёх государственных университетов Перта.


 

Hofmann Engineering – мировой лидер в точном машиностроении

Западноавстралийская компания Hofmann Engineering выполняет специализированные промышленные проекты для компаний всего мира. Компания Hofmann недавно завершила создание крупнейшего стального механизма для измельчения руды, диаметром 13.2 метра и весом в 73.5 тонны. Разработанный для китайской шахты по добыче меди, этот механизм стал образцом высокого качества точного машиностроения, поднимающего репутацию Перта на мировой уровень.


 

Возобновляемые источники энергии – сила океанских волн

Наш город стремительно растёт и ему требуется всё больше ресурсов, энергия – важнейший из них. Предприятия Западной Австралии проводят строгую экологическую политику и всё больше внимания обращается на возобновляемые источники энергии. Компании Carnegie Energy, Ocean Power Technologies и недавно появившаяся компания Bombora Wavepower разрабатывают технологию использования энергии океанских волн.


 

Опреснение воды – технология будущего

Компания Carnegie Energy реализует свои технологические проекты в Западной Австралии. Новый проект по получению возобновляемой энергии подводных течений создаётся рядом с военно-морской базой Гарден Айленд недалеко от Перта, и благодаря ему, Carnegie Energy уменьшат энергозатраты своей опреснительной станции на 90%.


 

Сайтек – наука для будущих поколений

Известный научно-образовательный центр Перта претерпит изменения и в ближайшем будущем существенно расширится. Сайтек вскоре будет располагаться на специально оборудованной площадке и сможет координировать свои программы с лучшими достижениями Западной Австралии в науке и технике.

Study in Perth, Australia for a future of success. Learn and work with industry leaders in science, technology, business, humanities and the arts.

Science, Technology and Agriculture in Perth

Remote Mining – producing resources for the world

Western Australia’s vast territory is rich in minerals and energy resources. Western Australia is the world's largest iron ore producer, accounting for 37% of global production 2014 and 49% of global iron ore exports. We also have large shares of the world’s production of alumina (14%) and nickel (13%). Over 60% of the world’s mining software is produced in Perth and since 2007 we have hosted over 109 international mining conferences. 


 

SKA – the largest radio astronomy project in the world

Western Australia has been chosen to be part of the world’s largest radio astronomy project, the Square Kilometre Array (SKA). A €1.5 billion project scheduled for implementation in 2016, the SKA will be the most advanced radio telescope in the world, spread between two locations in Western Australia and Southern Africa. As the name suggests, the telescope will cover an enormous area, consisting of thousands of antennas linked together by high bandwidth optical fibre. Already over 70 of the world’s foremost scientists and engineers have come to Perth’s International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR) for the project and are currently training one of the largest graduate student communities in Australia.


 

Super computer – $33 million of processing power 

Western Australia is home to the The Pawsey Centre, one of Australia’s leading supercomputing facilities. Completed in March 2013, the centre houses a $33 million supercomputer which is integral to Western Australia’s contribution to the SKA. The processing power of the centre will be used for groundbreaking research in radio astronomy, the geosciences, nanotechnology and biosciences. It is operated by iVEC, a joint venture between the CSIRO and four public Perth universities.


 

Hofmann Engineering – world firsts in precision engineering

Western Australia’s Hofmann Engineering are commissioned internationally for specialised industrial projects. Hofmann recently completed the world’s largest steel mill gear, with a diameter of 13.2m and weight of 73.5 tonnes. Designed for a Chinese copper mine, the gear is an example of the world-class precision engineering that is part of Perth’s growing reputation for excellence in the industry.


 

Renewable energy – harnessing the tide

With rapid growth comes increasing demand for resources, energy being foremost among them. Western Australia has a strong commitment to sustainable industrial practices and many of our leading thinkers have turned the expertise they gained the in the resources sector towards renewable energy solutions for our growing city. Carnegie Energy, Ocean Power Technologies and newcomers Bombora Wavepower are developing technology to harness the reliable wave power in Western Australia’s oceans.

Watch the Huffington Post's video here.


 

Desalination – marine technology for the future

Western Australia’s potential as a hub of marine technology projects is being realised by Carnegie Energy. Alongside their wave power initiative at the naval base on Garden Island, Carnegie are implementing a desalination plant with new technology that has the potential to reduce the typical power requirements of desalination by 90%.


 

Scitech – science for the next generation

Perth’s dedicated public science education centre is undergoing significant development and expansion over the coming years. Scitech is preparing to move to a new purpose-built location to align its programs with our Western Australia’s position at the forefront of science and technology.